top of page

Finding a Jewel in Oakleaf

Lamai Thai Restaurant

Isn't it cute in here!

Location: 9542 Argyle Forest Blvd, Ste C18 Jacksonville, FL

Rating: 4 out of 5 Bites

Living in an extreme part of a city that is already sprawled out can be very hard on a foodie like myself. Living in Oakleaf, which is west of the Westside has plenty of benefits: great neighborhoods, excellent schools, downside: every chain restaurant you can imagine. So when I want to try something other than those famous baby back ribs, it involves a bit of a drive. Well, not anymore. I decided to #yelpitout(a phrase, much like 'fetch', I'm trying to make happen) and saw that Lamai was right down the street...next to this vaguely familiar place where I pay to workout, but don't.

Being apart of a strip mall, Lamai is very plain on the outside, like every other storefront in the plaza. But the moment you open the door, you know that you're in store for something VERY different. There is wood detail everywhere! From the wood paneling on the walls to the center faux roof attached to the bar looking area.

The wood work already has me impressed, but the other details like the cute elephant salt n pepper shakers and placemats.

I started out with a Thai iced tea. I've never had a Thai iced tea that wasn't delicious and this wasn't any different. What was different, this was served in a tall pilsner and was only $2. That's a steal in my book(maybe I've been overpaying all this time, if I have, don't tell me, ignorance is bliss)! After looking through the menu, I decided to try the duck panang. Its creamy coconut curry on top of seared duck and a variety of fresh vegetables and pineapple chunks with a side of white rice on the side. I've always enjoyed duck, it's a very agreeable bird. While this is my first time having it with curry, the dish felt very familiar. There was a warmth(not just spice) and familiarity that I welcomed. There was a good amount of spice to the curry, but not overwhelming.

Duck panang

duck panang

I really enjoyed Lamai, especially since it didn't involve a 30 minute drive to get there. If you live in the wild, wild, west like me, this is a great place to try and get away from chain restaurant food.

bottom of page