top of page

BiteByBite Takes Savannah


Lady & Sons restaurant

Restaurant: The Lady and Sons

website: Lady and Sons

Rating: 4 out of 5 bites

To celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary, Hubby and I took a day trip to Savannah, Ga. We dropped those kiddos off and hit the road! Hubby and I didn't make any concrete plans about what we would do while we were day tripping, but we arrived in Savannah right in time for lunch. One thing that is big in Savannah is Paula Deen and her three story restaurant, Lady and Sons. We all know about Paula and her down south cooking and Hubby was adamant that we check it out. So we did!

We beat the lunch rush and when we arrived we were able to be seated immediately....on the third floor. So up the elevator we go.

Getting our Anniversary on!

We got to the third floor and was seated. Our server came over with a fresh smile and a garlic biscuit and a hoe cake(think hot water cornbread). I enjoyed the hoe cake(on the bottom) more than the biscuit, kind of transported me back to my youth, when family gatherings brought the best cooking out of everyone. Hot water cornbread(aka hoe cake...on second thought, ho cake? I'm not sure which) never lasted long around me. I would mix it in my collards and it was pure food joy.

biscuit and ho cake

With our complimentary bread already on the table, I decided to order a peach mint julep....I'm in Savannah after all, seems like the right thing to do.

peach mint julep

Now this drink didn't come in a huge 22 oz container, but that doesn't mean it didn't pack a punch, definitely a one and done if I was to enjoy the rest of my day.

Looking over the menu, and another table's food, we both decided to try the buffet. The buffet is $16 and honestly, for a tourist-y place, that's not a bad price. So the buffet has a small salad bar, but who came for that??? Then there is the Piece De Resistance(I'm not sure where all the accent thingys go) a eye watering display of soul food: lasagna, fried chicken, pot roast, black eyed peas, collard greens, mac n cheese(the good firm, baked in the oven type, the type that makes box mac n cheese go home and cry), green beans, rice, and candied yams. I filled my plate as best I could and still take a good picture. Here is the before:

a whoooollle lot of southern goodness

So this is excellent soul food. I imagine that if you've never experienced soul food before, this would be an out of body experience. But I grew up on soul food. In fact, I make pretty darn good soul food myself. I thoroughly enjoy the buffet, but it's not the best I've ever had. And that's ok. The buffet also comes with a dessert: banana pudding or peach cobbler. I live for a good peach cobbler, so that's what I got.

peach cobbler

I did not like the peach cobbler at all. It tasted like a really cheap store bought peach cobbler. I was really disappointed, so I gulped the rest of my mint julep.

I will go back to Paula's to try dishes from the menu, I was really intrigued by that asparagus sandwich. Also, they have REALLY good drinks. Our trip to Paula Deen's Family Kitchen got our daytrip off to the right start.

Now...enjoy these photos from the rest of our trip, which included a stop from Wet Willie's!

bottom of page