top of page

It's the beach, but you're still 'Down South'

Rating: 5 of 5

chef gilbert explaining his dining concept

I got a preview of rock star chef Kenny Gilbert's latest culinary ventures: Gilbert's Kitchen + Bar and Gilbert's Hot Chicken Fish + Shrimp. This is my third event featuring Chef Gilbert, and nothing but five stars every time. Jacksonville needs to be very grateful that chef picked North Florida to build his culinary empire. He took the old Seachasers building(I'm not sure what was here before, and frankly I don't care now that chef is here) and transformed it into multiple dining concepts.

The downstairs is where the informal, quick dining is located. Gilbert's Hot Chicken Fish+Shrimp. Here's Chef Gilbert explaining his downstairs concept.

A lot of the drinks will feature Stillhouse moonshine(yum!).

stillhouse moonshine

I tried the 'Southern Belle': Stillhouse Peach Tea Moonshine, Peach Nectar, Lime Juice, Sugarcane Stick, Fresh Mint....delish!

Hey Ya'll drink

There was also a low country boil to sample...and Goot(yes, that's a word when food is amazing) Grief it was delicious!

low country boil

Upstairs is a little more formal and it has such a beautiful ocean view....like AH-MAZING! I'm sure by the end of the year, this will be a premium spot for proposing.

I got to sample oysters with collards and bacon on them(such an upgrade to 'rockefeller').

oysters w/bacon and collards

There was also a smoke suckling pig(baby pig for the layman..lol).

chef Kenny Gilbert

There was also bahn mi sandwiches, but I didn't take a picture of because I was too busy being a fangirl. Why where you being a fangirl Erikka? Well, that's because the Bahn Mis were being assembled by the amazing Top Chef winner Mei Lin!!! Yes, as a HHUUUGGGEEE(no Bernie) Top Chef fan, I couldn't believe my eyes, so here's my pic with chef Mei.

chef Mei Lin

Here's another confession, I went BACK to Gilbert's Southern Kitchen three more times in as many weeks! So allow me to share more of the wonderful offerings from Gilbert's Southern Kitchen(I'm going to have to abbreviate that). Here is the smoked+fried chicken thigh sandwich. It's packs a spicy punch! Oh, and that's a side of cheese grits to

Smoked + Fried Chicken Thigh Sandwich

What chef Gilbert is doing with southern cuisine is masterful. He has elevated southern soul food while keeping the elements that makes it soul food. His food is insightful and thoughtful and just plain good!

bottom of page